Following the death of John Wilkinson, founder of FaRiG in January, an obituary was published in The Daily Telegraph.

FaRiG announces with great sadness that its founder, John Wilkinson, died on 13th January 2018 aged 88. His funeral will take place at 2pm on February 16th at Christ Church Kensington. Tributes and/or queries can be sent to his widow, Mia or to Robert Scallon, Hon Sec, FaRiG - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Tribute to Dr. John Wilkinson

An obituary by Bruce Clark

PROFESSOR ANTHONY BRYER, who has died aged 78, was an exuberant, charismatic historian and lecturer who did more than anybody in his generation to stimulate the study of Byzantium in Britain and beyond.

A short appreciation by Professor Judith Herrin

Anthony Bryer OBE, the wonderful, inspiring teacher and promoter of Byzantine, Greek and Turkish culture, died at his home in Birmingham on 22 October, 2016. He established the field of Byzantine Studies in the UK and embodied its international significance through his work on the region of Trebizond/Trabzon in eastern Turkey.

FaRiG has made two special grants to enable two Georgian universities to subscribe to JSTOR (a leading digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources).
The two universities are:

  • Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University
  • Akaki Tsereteli State Univeristy, Kutaisi

All members of these universities will have access to the web resource: they join 8,000 institutions in more than 160 countries with access to JSTOR.